There are 7 Political Groups within the European Parliament and an eighth group of non-affiliated MEPs. These political groups are formed around related political ideology and are formed of a variety of political parties across the EU. There is only one European Political group within the Parliament that has no UK MEPs, the European People’s Party (EPP), the largest of the political groups with 221 MEPs currently sitting. The Conservative Party were previously aligned to the EPP but left to form the European Conservatives and Reformists (ECR).

To see which European Political Group a UK political party belongs to please select it from the list:

Labour PartyLiberal DemocratsGreen Party of England & WalesScottish National PartyPlaid CymruConservative PartyUlster Unionist PartySinn FéinUK Independence PartyBritish National PartyWe Demand a ReferendumDemocratic Unionist PartyBritish National Party

This political party currently belongs to the: Non-affiliated.

To see more about any EU Parliamentary Political Group please select from the list below.

European People’s Party (EPP)
Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats (S&D)
Group of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)
The Greens–European Free Alliance (Greens/EFA)
European Conservatives and Reformists (ECR)
European United Left–Nordic Green Left (GUE/NGL)
Europe of Freedom and Democracy (EFD)
Non-affiliated (NI)

Share this page
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook
Email this to someone