Portugal – EU Parliamentary Elections

Political Background Portugal joined the EU in 1986, along with Spain, having emerged from dictatorship in the 1970s. Portugal joined the Euro on its inception. From 1926 until 1974 Portugal was run by the Ditadura Nacional (‘National Dictatorship’) and then from 1933 Estado Novo (‘New State’) a right-wing authoritarian dictatorship under Antonio Salazar (until his […]

Democratic Unitarian Coalition (CDU)

Democratic Unitarian Coalition (CDU). The CDU is a coalition of the Portuguese Communist Party (PCP) and the Ecologist Party (PEV), though in reality the PCP is by far the senior partner, and the PEV are mostly irrelevant, though, officially, the two maintain fairly different party programmes. The coalition has existed since 1987. The PCP is […]

Left Bloc (BE)

Left Bloc (BE). The Left Bloc is the more socially libertarian, and bohemian of Portugal’s two far-left structures. A merger party, the predecessors were small communist parties. It originally bought together Maoists, Trotskyists, anarchists and other far-left types who rejected the post-Stalinist Portuguese Communist Party. The party has come to have a much more ‘New […]

Socialist Party (PS)

Socialist Party (PS). The Socialists were founded in 1973, sensing the oncoming return of democracy, with significant aid from the German social democrats. The party won the 1975 election to the constituent assembly and thus had a strong hand in drafting the constitution, it subsequently won the 1976 election as well. The party has been […]

Portuguese Alliance

Social Democratic Party (PSD) & Democratic and Social Centre – People’s Party (CDS-PP). This year the two governing parties, the PSD and the CDS-PP are running a joint list, officially called the Portuguese Alliance. The PSD and the CDS-PP represent the centre-right and right of the Portuguese political spectrum, respectively. The PSD was founded in […]